I’ve been reading…

Some great posts today that are motivating me in a big way!  I’m getting excited for the New Year… it could be that I have had some caffeine today which I don’t normally drink or I have just realized that in order for me to move forward its time to stop sitting on the side lines and get into the game.   This year was a hard year for me.  I went through things that I don’t wish on anyone else and then other things I have been tremendously blessed with!  Lots of ups and downs but through it all I have had the constant love, grace and mercy from the Lord sustaining me.  I have a family that kept pushing me and friends who wouldn’t let me give up.  I also have a resolve to never fully give up.  I did at one point this year sit on my bed with tears streaming down my face and said “okay Lord, I give up… I give up to you my dreams, my wants, my desires and my life to You so that You can accomplish Your will not my own.”  That evening I felt a release like I hadn’t felt in a long time.  A huge weight of me trying to do everything in my own strength instead of relying on His strength to get me through each day.

Last night I was reminded of this again when reading this in Philippians (The Message version):

12-14I’m not saying that I have this all together, that I have it made. But I am well on my way, reaching out for Christ, who has so wondrously reached out for me. Friends, don’t get me wrong: By no means do I count myself an expert in all of this, but I’ve got my eye on the goal, where God is beckoning us onward—to Jesus. I’m off and running, and I’m not turning back.

15-16So let’s keep focused on that goal, those of us who want everything God has for us. If any of you have something else in mind, something less than total commitment, God will clear your blurred vision—you’ll see it yet! Now that we’re on the right track, let’s stay on it.

These verses will be the ones I go back to time and again to remind myself to keep going!

What verses are encouragement for you this year?

Leave a Reply

