Crazy week

This has been a  crazy hard week already for me and its only Tuesday! Yikes! But I am learning so much that at the same time its been a really good week as well. Do you ever have those kinds of weeks?

This past Saturday a family friend passed away and then on Monday my dad had to put down our family dog.  Which was beyond hard for him.  We as a family are also remembering last year when we got a call saying we needed to be in Illinois as soon as possible because it didn’t look like my grandfather was going to make it.  He passed away four days after that phone call.  The whole family was able to make it to see him before he passed away.  Emotionally draining doesn’t even begin to describe last January.  In the midst of this week though God has shown me over and over how much He loves me and that He is in control.  Psalm 139 has been a chapter I meditate on daily.  I have also been reading Proverbs every day and even though it is intense the wisdom in that book has provided comfort (as strange as that sounds) this week as well.

Even though this is a hard week, I am taking each day as it comes and learning to rejoice always in the Lord. Does this mean I don’t cry, or feel sad or want to just hide out in the middle of nowhere? No, it means that I take those times to see the Lord carry me through and learn more of His character and my worth that is only found in Him alone.

I love The Message version of Psalm 139:13-16:

13-16 Oh yes, you shaped me first inside, then out;
you formed me in my mother’s womb.
I thank you, High God—you’re breathtaking!
Body and soul, I am marvelously made!
I worship in adoration—what a creation!
You know me inside and out,
you know every bone in my body;
You know exactly how I was made, bit by bit,
how I was sculpted from nothing into something.
Like an open book, you watched me grow from conception to birth;
all the stages of my life were spread out before you,
The days of my life all prepared
before I’d even lived one day.

AH! How unbelievably wonderful is that! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Crazy week

  1. Yeah it has been an emotional week for your family. I was reflecting back on feeding your Grandpa last year and him asking me if I ever thought I’d be feeding my old man was his comment. I replied No Dad not in a million years! I was glad I had the opportunity to do it though. I was able to take care of him for a little bit instead of him taking care of me. Writing this has brought tears to my eyes and streaming down my face. I miss him even the things that were frustrating at times 🙂 I’ll be seeing your Grandma this week-end and hope to be with her on Monday 1 year to the day Dad left his earthly home.

    Love Aunt Julie

Leave a Reply

