Excitement and Fear

In my last post I talked about being in the “waiting” right now and how it really sucks to be in this position some times.  I see others lives moving on and wish mine to be moving on as well.  Even though I know that I am exactly where I need to be! I have been desperately trying to get out of debt and made the choice to stay living with my parents so that I could get that taken care of.

Last week in the middle of one of my “woe is me” moments I realized that in May possibly beginning of June I will be DEBT FREE! Did you see that? Yep, I have aggressively paid on my debt b/c I want to have freedom in my life to where I can give more and do things that I haven’t been able to do in a while.  I have also been saving as much as possible.  I have been learning how to live on a budget and not to just spend money because I have it. (Dave Ramsey would be proud! 🙂 )  I realized that I was wasting a lot of money on things that weren’t important.

This is where the excitement and fear come into play. I have been so focused on getting out of debt that I didn’t realize that by May I will be FREE!  I can then take my next steps to whatever it is the Lord has for me.  There is excitement because I know that I will be financially able to take that next step but at the same time fear crept in leaving me almost paralyzed at the thought of now being able to take that next step.  At that same moment the fear came in I immediately thought of:   Philippians 4:6-7 “do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. 7And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

Any time fear creeps in that is my go to verse.  So as the fear subsides the excitement continues to build!  I have no idea what life will look like after I am debt free but I can tell you that I will be feeling a freedom like I haven’t in years!

Are you debt free? If so, how has it changed your life?

4 thoughts on “Excitement and Fear

  1. Becky, that is awesome!! So many people are more scared to make the changes to GET debt free!

    Scott and I have been completely debt free for about 18 months now and it’s so great to be able to give and of course get sometimes. At the same time, we realized with the excess we were being VERY irresponsible with some of our money and have really tried to buckle down this year. There is always a balance to strike with money, no?

  2. When I began to read your post and I saw the words “DEBT FREE” I thought, this girls been doing the Dave Ramsey thing!

    LOL. Hilarious: You Go Girl!

    My wife and I are going through the FPU right now (half way through) and it’s changing our lives.

    It’s funny how freedom can be so scary (the Israelites wanted nothing but to go back to Egypt). But freedom is God’s middle name: Jesus Freedom Christ (John 8:36).

Leave a Reply

