Beauty

Your thoughts—how rare, how beautiful!

God, I’ll never comprehend them!

~Psalm 139:17 The Message

How beautiful. God’s thoughts about me are beautiful! I still remain in awe of that verse.

For years the struggle I have faced in wanting to be beautiful all the time is not a new struggle for most women/girls I know.  I look at magazine covers and think “man, I wish I could look as beautiful as this girl, or wear the right clothes that make me look beautiful”.  I covet, get jealous all because I think I am not beautiful enough.  Several years ago God started working on my heart about the issue I have with beauty.  He continually shows me in scripture after scripture how cherished and beautiful I am because I am HIS creation!  I can go to the mountains or to the beach and think  “Wow, God’s creation is beautiful” and yet look at myself in the mirror and think “this isn’t beautiful”.  Man, that has got to be really heartbreaking for God.  I am made in HIS image.  He is beauty and yet I choose to tear down the beauty that He placed within me.

I wish I could say that I have overcome this struggle with great ease and it will never be an issue for me but that’s not the case.  I daily have to rely on what the Bible says God thinks of me… because His thoughts are beautiful and too numerous for me to fathom!

What does beauty look like to you?

4 thoughts on “Beauty

  1. Thats a great insight. Edwin has helped me a lot to overcome that when we got married. He kept telling me that I’ve insulted him every time I didn’t believe him when he compliments me. At the same time, i realized that I’ve insulted God everytime I thought that I was ugly or some parts that I didn’t appreciate. Right now, I’m struggling with the weight from my pregnancy with Aliza. I have to tell myself that inside is more important that the beauty on the inside will spread the beauty to the outside. I know its easier said than do, but God is good all the time.

  2. unfortuantely, the outer image prevails as the big thing for many. Vanity–

    beauty comes from what is inside and it is not what you wear on the outside but what you wear in the inside~
    xxxx

Leave a Reply

