Easter Excitement

Today I read a tweet on Twitter from @AaronBReddin “I hate to be a buzzkill, but if everyone was as fired up about Jesus the other 364 as they are today, the earth would be rockin’!!!”  I instantly responded back that I had a similar thought for over a week now.  His reply to me “So how do we harness that energy and excitement and carry it into the rest of the year?”  Great question… how do we? I have struggled with this question over and over all week-long.  It’s not to say that Easter isn’t an important holiday and that we shouldn’t celebrate it BUT what if we lived each day celebrating the fact that Jesus was raised from the dead and is alive?  How does that look day in and day out?

This post is more for me getting some thoughts out that I wrestle with on a regular basis.  I want to be excited every day that Jesus is alive and living in me.  I want others to see a passion burning with in me that is contagious and can’t be ignored. Again, how does that look day in and day out?

I must confess I was very excited about going to church this morning but not for the same reasons every one else was.  My excitement was over the fact that I went to church.  For a short while I was not attending church in person.  I was watching sermons on-line and loved that but something was missing for me.  I needed and longed to be with other believers worshiping together.  I started going back the church I grew up in.  I didn’t know how I would feel about going back… truly I struggled with it for months.  I had tried being a part of ministry there and failed, left for a few years, so why go back there just to go?  I realized a few weeks ago I wasn’t going back just to go… I was going back to heal my heart a bit more and to seek fellowship.

As I wrestle/struggle with the thoughts about this (in a good way) I would love to hear your thoughts as well! What does it look like to live the excitement and energy put into this Sunday everyday of the week?

8 thoughts on “Easter Excitement

  1. This made me smile! Thanks for the shout out! 🙂

    I’m just so tired of “commercial” Christianity. If sitting in my recliner is where I’m finding the real Jesus, then by God, I’m sitting in my recliner.

    I’m tired of “doing” church. Church “services” and “experiences” are about to make me vomit!!

    Let’s set out every single day to find the real Jesus, act like the real Jesus, and ultimately be the real Jesus to the real people of the world.

    Let’s all stop acting like Christians, and start being Christians.

  2. For me it is about connecting with fellow believers. And let us consider how to stimulate one another to love and good deeds, not forsaking our own assembling together as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another; and all the more as you see the day drawing near. Heb 10:24,25. Now a days I see the need for Chrsitan fellowship as a means of staying strong in our faith. With what is happening in the U.S. and around the world with economic kaos, political stife, increase in natural disasters I think the birthbangs are getting closer.

    I think instead of striving all the time to “find out” what God wants me to do with my life maybe just focus on how I can be the hands and feet of Jesus today. It maybe as simple as a smile at a clerk in a store or saying to a person I hope you have a great day. We tend to get caught up with the idea that we need to go somewhere or do somthing big in order to be used by God. We need to learn that we can be a light for Him right where we are even in the small ways

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Easter Excitement « Becky's World -- Topsy.com

  4. I am so glad you were excited to go to church. I somehow always am, even when I am not in love with my church. I just love to see what God is doing and He always gives me something. It is amazing how God works through the flaws and the difficulties to create beauty in my life. I love online sermons because I love to experience the giftings of other Pastor’s but church truly isn’t all that much about a sermon. It is about the together struggle and groaning of believers and the bumping and bruising and rejoicing that we go through together. A lot like family. Much like marriage. Difficult but beautiful. It may sometimes get torn apart but God asks us to struggle on.

    • Cyndi ~ I love this quote… its so true and it is like a family trying to navigate the waters of life. “It is about the together struggle and groaning of believers and the bumping and bruising and rejoicing that we go through together.”

Leave a Reply

