He’s not finished…

This weekend Philippians 1:6 came to me at different times. Once through an email and another time through a song.

Here it is: Philippians 1:6 “being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.”

The song: Brandon Heath’s “Wait and See”. The lyrics that kept coming to mind “There is hope for me yet because God wont forget, all the plans he’s made for me I have to wait and see, he’s not finished with me yet. He’s not finished with me yet”

Lately I have been learning a lot about finishing things.  Especially when I decided that I wanted to be a runner.  I have been able to really resonate with other scriptures through out the New Testament in a way I hadn’t before. Its not that I didn’t get them or they didn’t make sense.  For me it has been being able to take what I am doing in the physical and see how it relates to the spiritual.

With every race there is a finish but I continue on training for the next race.  I have also realized all the preparation and discipline it takes to run a race.  I’m a pretty disciplined person and yet I fail at preparing myself as much as I need to be before a race or even with training.  I see that in my walk with the Lord as well. I need to step it up! Its time to lay aside the things that hold me back (or down).

As I was finishing the race and watched my parents finish the race this past weekend another scripture came to mind: Hebrews 12:1 “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.”

I can do this because He is NOT finished with me yet! 🙂

6 thoughts on “He’s not finished…

Leave a Reply

