Restless

The past couple of weeks I have had the desire to leave Charlotte. This desire comes up every once in a while but for some reason last week it hit me really hard.  I was ready to call my aunt and uncle in Normal, IL and tell them to look for job openings there because I just wanted to get out of Charlotte.  (I started saying “ABC= Anywhere But Charlotte”.) Then I thought hmmm… I am meeting friends all over the place maybe DC would be a good place to move to.  Really, I was ready to move north.  And for those of you that know me well, know that moving north is NOT something I long to do! I do not like being cold. I actually enjoy the warmth of summer.  If I could make it summer 9 out of the 12 months here in Charlotte I would… December, January and February can be cool but that’s it! 😉

There’s a restlessness within me that I can seem to shake at the moment.  I feel stuck. Feeling restless and stuck at the same time is always a recipe in my world for hiding out.  This weekend I will head to Boone, NC to spend time with a friend which will give me a break from all the craziness in my world. I won’t be hiding out! 🙂

Honestly, I’m wanting things to change in my world. For some odd reason I have always thrived on change. It doesn’t scare me as much as it does others. Mainly because I see it as a challenge.

Earlier this morning I read another post by Amy and she said this: I feel a rumbling in my soul to see something bigger and better.  I believe she said it better than I ever could!

Restlessness = Rumbling in my soul

So I am waiting patiently not so patiently at the moment, to see what the next step is.

Psalm 27:14 “Wait on the Lord; Be of good courage. And He shall strengthen your heart; Wait, I say, on the Lord.”

Are you doing anything exciting this weekend?

7 thoughts on “Restless

  1. Well, I certainly don’t have a restlessness to move up North 😉

    I’ll be praying for you that you figure out where God wants you….Boone sounds good for the weekend!

  2. ah…. so you really don’t want to move up North? 🙂 I agree wait on God and see where He leads. My ways are not your ways neither are my thoughts your thoughts…
    Love Aunt Julie

  3. oh, so needed to read that Psalm this morning, Becky!!! I hope you had a wonderful time in Boone. Might I suggest a move to Nashville? I hear it’s a happenin’ place AND you would have an instant church home!! *wink wink nudge nudge*

    Continue to trust in the Lord and let him guide you where He needs you to be. I love that you embrace change!

Leave a Reply

