Essential Tremors

Today I decided to research a bit about “Essential Tremors” to see what I could come up with. A few years ago I did the same thing and came up with nothing. But today I found a lot on information on the internet about this “disability”.Ā  I put quotation marks around that because of course I don’t look at it like that. BUT it can be disabling to a lot of people including myself. I just choose to look at it in a different way. I shake… there is really nothing I can do short of taking medicine for the rest of my life that will take it away. (Side note: I have yet to be clinically diagnosed with Essential Tremors.)

At times though socially the shaking causes me to want to retreat. Things easily fall out of my hands. I won’t even attempt becoming a server due to the fact most people would like to eat their food not wear it! šŸ™‚ I am not steady on my feet (we all know I fall a lot ;)) and the biggest thing is most people think I am a nervous wreck all the time!Ā  I’m not, I promise. I just shake. It can be difficult at times trying to explain something even I don’t clearly understand.Ā  (Another side note: I get teased about that by a lot of friends. šŸ™‚ )

I love photography and for a while I wouldn’t even touch my manual settings due to the fact that I can’t put the shutter speed to a slower speed and shoot some great things. I have to rely on a tripod. I don’t have a choice. In my stubbornness I just used the automatic settings for as long as possible. I have since relented in situations where I know I can shoot on manual settings with out the use of a tripod!

Essential Tremors are genetic so yes, I did inherit it from my dad. He shakes too, as well as his dad and I believe both of his sisters. Of my siblings I am the only one with the shaking.

Today I found a website that is trying to raise awareness of Essential Tremors (ET).Ā  I had no idea that ET affects over 10 million people in the US. There are many different variations of ET. I happen to just have the hand/arm shaking.Ā  A lot of people have trouble speaking because ET affects their vocal chords. Others are incorrectly diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease as well.

I am not sure why I decided to research this topic or why I felt the need to share a blog post about it. I guess if we ever meet face to face and I am shaking, please know I am not a nervous wreck… just shaking.Ā  (Oh and hide the breakables around us, there’s a good chance something could fall and break! šŸ˜‰ )

6 thoughts on “Essential Tremors

  1. Thanks again for sharing Becky! I think I have Restless Leg Syndrome. Its not bad but when it hits, it is wierd. Unexplainable to people with out it. So, continue to Shake the World for Christ!

  2. So, my mother in law also has the same issue with shaking both of her hands and then when she goes to bed she has restless leg. HOWEVER, once she started taking her Juice Plus capsules, she claims it’s gone away. I did NOT get her to start taking Juice Plus, this is something she discovered on her own many many years ago. Once she found out I work for them and have been taking the capsules for the past 6 years, she had to tell me all about it! She knows it’ the Juice Plus because she’ll sometimes forget to take it and that’s when the shaking will start so she’ll realize she needs to take her Juice Plus again.

    Just wanted to pass it along…there haven’t been any scientific studies on it but just her own personal experience. šŸ™‚

    Missed you tonight!

    • Maybe Juice Plus should do a study! šŸ™‚ That’s very interesting with her not having any more problems.
      I ended up doing a short run in my neighborhood last night… killer hills though! I didn’t want to over work my knee.

Leave a Reply

