My crazy week

Last week I went to four (yes, four) separate fundraisers/events! To be honest I absolutely love events like these. I get to hear what others are doing in my community in Charlotte and around the world.  I love connecting with others as well and through these events I was able to meet lots of wonderful new friends! 🙂

The first fundraiser was for Motor Racing Outreach. I took my mom with me and it turned out to be a wonderful experience for both of us.  I am not a race fan but I love the heartbeat behind this ministry. My mom on the other hand is a race fan and she was in for a treat. She got to meet one of her favorite drivers, Darrell Waltrip.  To say that she was excited is an understatement… she was thrilled! My mom’s birthday was last week and so I told her that this was my present to her! 🙂  My mom made me get in a picture with her and Darrell Waltrip.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The second/fourth fundraiser was for the Nyanya project. This project was started by Mary Martin Niepold several years ago. This project helps African grandmothers keep their families together that have been torn apart from AIDS.  There are three countries that the Nyanya project works in currently, Kenya, Rwanda, and Tanzania. I am so glad I was able to be apart of bringing awareness to this project this past weekend. The bracelet I am wearing below was made by one of the grandmothers in Kenya! (This project had two events locally that I attended.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The last event I went to was for Compassion. OH HOW I LOVE COMPASSION. Seriously, Friday night’s event made me love Compassion all the more. I was able to learn about a project that I had no idea existed called “Child Survival Program” and their “Leadership Development Program“.  I wish I had the time to write about each one but I am still trying to process all of the events.  I had the privilege of being able to hear one of the students who had graduated from the Leadership Development Program and is continuing to pursue his education to get his masters degree in Physics! It also reminded me to send out some letters to Obsa the child I sponsor soon! I will be letter writing at lunch today!

 

What events or fundraisers have you been to lately? Please feel free to share! 🙂

4 thoughts on “My crazy week

Leave a Reply

