Life

Lately I haven’t even wanted to blog and yet at the same time I long to write a post that is worth your time reading and worth my time writing. Strange huh?

With the Holidays here and life getting a bit hectic I have tried to slow down in areas that take up time.  When I do that I end up just sitting and feeling useless.  I’m a doer by nature so its hard for me to just sit.  I know, I am running a lot and training for a 1/2 marathon and that takes time and I need to rest.  I can’t do everything I would like to do. There’s just not enough time in the day for that!

Balance… that’s what I am trying to find right now. Will I ever achieve this, I don’t know. But I long for it. I want to write blog posts, work on my photography, train for another 1/2 marathon and a marathon, work, hang out with friends, do my cleaning in the house, and spend time quietly with the Lord. Some how this does not all get achieved in a balanced way.

By the time I leave work I am exhausted and I don’t want to be on the computer at home. So, my blog posts and my photography get pushed to the side.

The cold weather and the shorter days don’t help much either. I usually want to curl up on the couch and watch a good cheesy, girly movie! 🙂

I run my 1/2 marathon in a week and a half!!! If you are in the Charlotte area and would like to cheer on me and my friends go check out the course and hang out at one of the fan zones along the way!

If you can’t tell already, I am very excited about this! I have some more specific goals for next year with running that I will share soon!

So, how do you balance it all? Is there really a way to achieve balance in everything?

3 thoughts on “Life

  1. I’m feeling the ache for balance in me as well. I’m exhausted after work and have even less energy then I’d thought. Needing some exhale some where.

    So pumped for your race!! I would cheer you on with signs if I lived in NC!

  2. I’m not sure there is balance this side of heaven. However one will feel better if one gets the proper sleep especially when you are younger like you Becky 🙂 I too find that exercising takes up a lot of one’s free time and with the shorter days it is worse for those of you who run outside. Some times I think we just need to do what is necessary it may not be that you are in God’s word everyday (although that is a valid goal to strive for) but praying which you can do anywhere even at work is spending time with God. When you run I am sure you are also praying. Then when you can fit it in read from the word. You don’t have to spend a lot of time just reading a few verses will do it. As a parent one learns what must be done and then what can be put off. Your Uncle Glenn has always struggled with how to be a “good Christian”, good husband, good father, reliable employee and throw in an elder in the church. all this to say you are not in the boat alone. Hang in there you are doing fine!!

Leave a Reply

