Discipline

Discipline is something I struggle in some areas of my life but in others I have NO problem with it. That almost seems really strange to type it out.

I am disciplined to get up on Saturdays to go running, getting to work on time, washing my face, brushing my teeth and so on. You get the idea.  BUT what I really found recently is that I am in no way shape or form disciplined in taking time out of my day to have a quiet time and read the Bible. When I started running last year, I would constantly think about a book that Danny Lehmann wrote years ago, “Before You Hit the Wall“. I read it during my time in Honolulu, Hawaii at the Youth With A Mission base there. I thought it was funny that every time I went for a run that book would pop into my head. I truly did not understand the book until last year. Yes, I understood it on a basic level but once I started running I realized the deeper truths that Danny lays out in the book.

When I started running last year, I really had no idea what I was doing. I just wanted to run. I knew nothing about preparing myself to run and the discipline it takes to get to where I needed to be. I learned the hard way. Something I tend to do anyway with things in my life. 🙂

There is a lot of preparation that needs to take place in order to have a really good run and not be injured. That is the same with my faith. I need to be prepared for when life throws those wonderful curve balls at me. Spending time reading the Bible helps me when those times come. Yes, there will be times of injury, limping to the side, wondering if I will make it but when you are prepared you get back up. You start out slowly walking and before you know it, you are running the race again.

Are you a disciplined person? What areas in your life are you working on with regards to discipline?

 

2 thoughts on “Discipline

Leave a Reply

