One Year Ago

One year ago yesterday, I became debt free! One of the best decisions I have ever made, was to become debt free and really work my butt off to do it! For several years I had listen to Dave Ramsey talk about being debt free and the steps you take to get there. I didn’t think it would work for me. (Yes I know, I was wrong! 🙂 ) I really didn’t see how I could cut back in my life style and still get out of debt. I knew that this was not just going to be a head decision but a heart one as well. I had to re-examine my budget and see where I could cut back. Basically, I had to stop shopping like I used to, start eating food from home, and not go out as much as I used to.  Little did I know that when I stopped going out to lunch everyday I would save a ton of money that way! Yes, I still bring food from home as often as possible so that I don’t eat out. I also watched where each dollar I brought in was going out. I really didn’t understand the wastefulness of not budgeting my money properly. When you get on a budget and stick to it, you will see real changes in your savings and getting out of debt.  I also make smarter decisions regarding how I spend my money. The understanding of a need vs. a want was also huge for me in getting to this goal of being debt free.

I had to get creative, gazelle like, and purposeful about this. It worked! I am debt free and on my way to getting my emergency fund built up.

Today I rejoice because I attained a goal of mine in getting debt free and staying that way!

Are you debt free? If not, do you want to be?

One thought on “One Year Ago

  1. That is awesome!! Congratulations!! We are much closer to debt-free than several years ago, but we still have a ways to go. I must admit that I have been less than gazelle-intense in our pursuit of debt freedom, but we keep taking baby steps forward and that’s better than nothing. I wish I could go back and undo our (many) money mistakes. But since we can’t…baby steps. 🙂 I love hearing success stories from other people, so I’m glad you shared this!

Leave a Reply

