I Opened…

A slight can of worms the other day on my Facebook page. I wrote a status update about a customer who jokingly asked me if I wanted to get married b/c I was the most pure girl he’s met in 15 years. I politely declined. Then came the comments!

I’ve had a couple of guys ask me to marry them and I’ve turned them down. Yes, you read that correctly. Not because they are awful guys (none of them were awful), they weren’t the right guys for me. I can say that more confidently now than ever before.  At those times I was young and didn’t know what I wanted in a relationship. Yes, I have desired to be married for a long time but I suck at the dating thing. Really, I do! I’m okay with that. It’s one reason why I took myself out of the dating world for a while. (A long while but that’s a whole other can of worms. :))

I have always been a pretty confident person and generally know what I want out of life. I have sought after many things but the one thing I consistently seek after is a deeper relationship with the Lord. So with that, my standards for the guy I hope to marry one day are pretty high! But this is not a post about my standards and what I am looking for.

This is a post about how I’ve had to walk through my own story of living a life of purity in hopes of finding my “Mr. Right”. Ladies, it’s not easy to remain pure especially as you get older. In fact it gets harder. You start to question your standards and whether or not you should lower them for the sake of settling. Trust me, I battle those questions every day.

Questions like: Would dating this guy who doesn’t love the Lord be okay? Would I be okay settling for some one who says they are a Christian but their life doesn’t back up their declaration? Should I try to make a relationship work just for the sake of making it work? What are people thinking about me when it comes to not being in a relationship at the moment? Have I seriously failed in this area of my life that there is no reason to keep my standards?

You see, even with confidence the questions still come and the answers are always the same. Don’t give up. Stick with your standards. Love who you are as a person. Live life to the fullest and enjoy the blessings that the Lord has placed in your life.

No, I am not where I thought I would be at this point in my life but I am definitely okay with where I am at. I have a full and wonderful life that I want to make the best of!

My Aunt Julie left a comment that I think sums me up: “….miss picky…”.  That is me and I’m glad!

Jeremiah 29:11-13  “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” NIV 

11 thoughts on “I Opened…

  1. Stand firm, and when all else fails, Stand. The world today has it backwards anyway (No surprise there). Today says “date to marry” when it should be “marry to date” TJ and I had 1 date and 2 weeks before I asked her to marry me. It’s been a blessing ever since. Keep up the good fight Becky!

  2. Becky,
    You can’t go wrong with Jer 29:11!! I pray God will strengthen you will the assurance of His plan for you and your life. May His purposes be fulfilled in your life.

    Blessings,
    Jim

  3. Love this…those are questions we all should be asking ourselves. Too often we do settle and that’s not what God had in mind. He wants us in relationships that grow us and glorify him. Getting married just to get married…doesn’t do that.

    • Thank you Morgan! You are right, more people (women or men) should be asking those questions daily. God does want us in relationships that grow us and glorify HIM alone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

