Don’t Give Up

This past Saturday I was sitting, waiting patiently for Carol to start speaking. I was excited about getting to hear her speak again. I listen to her daily on the radio, have met her several times at events and told her last year that I was adopting her as my older sister. Thankfully she didn’t run off scared when I announced that to her via email! 🙂

I pulled out my journal before the session began and opened it up to find these words in big, bold letters: DON’T GIVE UP! 

I had no idea that half way through Carol’s session she would say THE SAME thing! Her session of the conference is the only one that I took notes in. I know that there was a reason for that, I needed to reinforce something God has been telling me time and again: DON’T GIVE UP!

I also loved that I started a Bible study last week on James and that was the scripture reference she used during her talk. James 1:2-4  “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.  Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” 

I am not going through a ton of difficult things but I do wrestle a lot with where I am at right now and where I think I should be. My trials will look different than everyone else’s but we all have them. It is how we handle going through the trials. Are we going to stand and fight or are we going to lie down and let life pass us by? I’m guilty of lying down and letting life pass me by on occasion and then at other times I stand and fight. Standing and fighting takes more effort than just lying down. But the fight is worth the effort!

I’ve learned a lot about perseverance over the last two years while running. If I don’t push through the walls I come up against in training, I won’t survive the race.

Is there something you have given up on? A dream? Whatever it is… DON’T GIVE UP!!!!! 

2 thoughts on “Don’t Give Up

Leave a Reply

