30 Day Challenge Update

I’m into the second week of my challenge. I have to be honest yesterday morning was very hard for me.  On Saturday evening around 7pm I started seeing news on Twitter and Facebook that Whitney Houston had died! (I’m still in shock.) When a headline like this comes, I am glued to the news. I want all the details. Of course this happened Saturday night so details were few and far between. With reporters repeating the same information every five minutes. Shock resounding in everyone’s voice relaying the news. Experts brought in to talk about the affects drug abuse has on a body, medical examiner’s that are now correspondents on the news channels talking about what could have happened. Yet, no one truly knows what happened at this point.

I’m hooked, 100% hooked on everything they are saying. I fell asleep to the news on Saturday evening. I spent time recalling every song I could think of that I had recorded from the radio when I was a child. If Whitney Houston sang it, I loved it. I loved her videos as well, some of my favorites “I’m Your Baby Tonight” and “I Wanna Dance With Somebody”. Whitney Houston’s death is affecting a lot of people. I, like most in my generation looked up and admired her greatly. Yes, she had her problems with drugs later on in life but she had a powerful voice and had a way that made you feel like you could sing right along with her. Maybe even one day be like her.

I’m happy to report that I did not watch the news yesterday morning. As much as I REALLY wanted to, I resisted and instead listened to my music and spent time praying while getting ready. I did the same thing this morning, I can feel my resolve slipping at times. I know it is in those moments where I don’t rely on my own strength but in God’s strength.

Isaiah 40:28 Do you not know?  Have you not heard? The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom. 29 He gives strength to the weary  and increases the power of the weak. 30 Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; 31 but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint. (NIV)


2 thoughts on “30 Day Challenge Update

Leave a Reply

