Craving Grace by Lisa Velthouse

Craving Grace by Lisa Velthouse


I love to read and write so doing a review should be easy for me right? When I decided to read and review Lisa’s book, I didn’t realize that writing the review would be so hard. I wanted a perfect review to come flowing from my fingertips to the keyboard, only to realize I wasn’t allowing grace to guide me through the writing process. I struggled. It is kind of funny because her book is all about grace!

I loved Lisa’s book and honestly felt like I was sitting down with a friend who was sharing stories that I personally could relate to. I even emailed her and told her half way through reading “I feel like you shadowed most of my twenties”. Her stories, are my stories.

Lisa talks about a time in her life where she fasted for 6 months from sweets. She called it the “Honey Project”. During that time she learned so much about grace because of times of triumph and failure. I believe some times I desire a time of fasting and not wanting to crave what I am fasting, that I focus on that aspect and not the lessons that come in between the start and finish of a fast.  I can feel failure creeping in and at times, I have given up. I’m a perfectionist at heart.

With “Craving Grace” I learned again that grace is more what I crave and have a difficult time extending that to myself. I will extend grace more freely to others but when it comes to my life, grace is not so freely given. I love how Lisa draws her readers into the ups and downs along the way of the “Honey Project” and the different parts of her life where she struggled to see God’s grace.

I definitely recommend this book to anyone that struggles with grace in their lives.

To order Lisa’ book, click on the picture above!

One last thing, there is a song by For King and Country named “Crave” that I listen to a lot that relates to “Craving Grace”.

To believe, to see

Hope is what we crave

And that will never change

So I stand and wait

I need a drop of grace, to carry me today

I received a copy of Lisa’s book in exchange for this review. All opinions are my own. 

2 thoughts on “Craving Grace by Lisa Velthouse

Leave a Reply

