Over a month gluten free

I have been gluten free for over a month and it is amazing how much better I feel each day. I still have tiredness but I think that is just a lack of vitamin B-12.

I am sure you are wondering what in the world do I eat because gluten is in almost everything! Well, I cut out a lot of processed foods. I still eat chips, brownies, chocolate (OH MY, the list I found of gluten free chocolate on-line that has made me happy about my chocolate addiction! 🙂 ) but I make sure they don’t have gluten in them. You might be surprised how many products out there now are gluten free. I haven’t given up pasta, I just changed the noodles I eat. Instead of flour noodles, I stick to rice or corn noodles (that are gluten free). I check labels now more than ever before.

I still eat out at my favorite restaurants, I eat more salads than before and I check the dressing ingredients on the restaurant websites.

My intestinal track loves me, it really does! Five weeks ago it was not my friend and didn’t love me at all. Too much information for you, I assume. 🙂

I thought this journey would be extremely difficult and at first it was a bit difficult, but I learned to take it one day at a time. I am learning the ins and outs of shopping for this “diet” and it is becoming a bit more natural to search out the right products. Plus, I crave fruits and veggies so much more!

I didn’t go gluten free to lose weight, although most people who do try the gluten free diet do lose weight. I went gluten free to help my digestive system and it’s working. I am so thankful for that!

 

6 thoughts on “Over a month gluten free

  1. I am doing it too! You need to talk to MIchele about this! I’ve discover after cutting out wheat & diary that I’ve lost weight immediately, after trying for 3 years! We need to share recipes!

    • Hey TJ, I didn’t know you were gluten free! I’ve actually lost about four pounds being gluten free. Not something I was going for at all. I would love to know what recipes you have! I’m still trying to find good ones. 🙂

      • I love Babycakes NYC baking books & Flying Apron (no gluten Vegan cookbooks, can be found in library). I don’t know if you have heard of Paleo (caveman diet). I’m mix of vegan, lessen gluten (working on way to no), and some beef (once in a while). Im not exactly strict. I plan to start with NO gluten tomorrow.

      • Hey TJ, I will look into those cook books! I’m not a fan of the Vegan diet and I’ve just heard about the Paleo diet recently. Good luck on the no gluten tomorrow! I promise you will feel better! 🙂

  2. I also am going Gluten-Free to help my stomach/digestive issues and seem to be having good results however, it’s only been about 2-3 weeks so far with 1 setback already. I am going to add you to my blogroll so I can keep up on your progress. Your not kidding when you say Gluten is in almost everything.

    • That is great news on your gluten-free journey! I hope that my progress can be an encouragement for you. I was shocked at how many products, seemingly healthy ones at that, have gluten in them. It’s not an easy thing to do but so well worth the health benefits!

Leave a Reply

