A freak out moment

On Tuesday morning of this week my dad took my car into the shop to see what was wrong and what needed to be fixed. I had a slight idea that my brakes were needing to be replaced and the check engine light had just come on last week.

I got a phone call around 8:45am from my dad and this is where my freak out moment came:

Me: Hey dad, what did they say?

Dad: Beck, you need new brakes and your oxygen sensor needs to be replaced.

Me: Okay, so how much will that cost? (At this moment, I am thinking 400.00 max. That should tell you something about how much I think things cost nowadays. :))

Dad: 800.00 dollars total

Me: Ummm, okay, ummm (the panic has set in), I can’t breathe I gotta go.

I hung up on my dad. I’m sure he thought something was really wrong with me. It is probably the most dramatic I’ve ever been with my dad via the phone. That and I am sure he was laughing at how I was acting. 🙂

(I’ve only had one panic attack that I know of as an adult and it was a few months ago having to walk up some stairs that freak me out. Yes, they are same stairs I have fallen down and hurt myself.)

I thought I was going to throw up and have a heart attack at the same time. You see, I just spent almost 800.00 on new tires last week and to be told I would need to cough up another 800.00 was not what I had in mind.

I called my dad back and told him the brakes were the most important thing to fix and to go ahead with that one. Next month I will get money together for the sensor.

Right after I hung up with my dad a verse came to me that I recite over and over again: Proverbs 3:5-6

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
    and lean not on your own understanding;
 in all your ways submit to him,
    and he will make your paths straight

After that I knew it would be okay. That scripture put things back into perspective for me. I am debt free by the grace of God and I have a savings established for such events. Yes, everything will be okay and I have new tires and brakes to help keep me safe on the road. Next month I will have my other problem fixed and I will be okay.

I probably shouldn’t have to many freak out moments because I know that in the end, it will all work out. 🙂

2 thoughts on “A freak out moment

Leave a Reply

