Stress Points

Do you ever feel like you are drowning in a sea of stress and you just can’t climb to the top long enough to catch your breath? The stress of life has hit harder than ever before and I can honestly say that some days I want to give up. I want to throw my hands up in surrender and just cry until there is not a tear left to shed. The blankets of disappointment and discouragement always seem to find a way to wrap themselves around me during times of stress. That only makes the days grow longer and more stressful. They have been ever present lately, doing their best to swallow me whole.

I’ve learned during times of stress not to retreat. I’m very good at that. This week I really had to push through and reach out in ways to others I really never thought of. I didn’t need a phone conversation or a hug (although those are great to get everyday), a simple text to a couple of friends I had not heard from in a while helped me to not be as stressed. Also, my friend Lisa’s husband, Ryan, who I happen to think is one of the funniest guys in my world, has brought some humor into my world at the right time. For that I am grateful!

I really don’t know how to relax well. Lisa learned that at the beach last weekend. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m always on the go that I feel guilty for even thinking that sitting around, reading a book or watching a little TV is okay. When I don’t relax, life gets more stressful. I choose the stress instead of resting in what God has already taught me more times than I can count: Rest in Him and He will take care of everything. I have a feeling this is a lesson I will have to keep learning in the years to come. Theย best way I know how to de-stress, is to pray through scripture and trust that God has everything under control. Because He alone does, I can do my best to control things but ultimately I am not in control.

My friend,ย Sarah Martin, wrote a wonderful book “Stress Point: Thriving Through Your Twenties in a Decade of Drama” and I can tell you that this is not just for 20-somethings. ๐Ÿ™‚ She goes through each stress point we as young adults have and shares how to work through them in reading scripture and applying it to our lives. To be honest, I keep going back to the first chapter of the book. I want to continue moving forward but the first chapter is what I am dealing with. It is all about your career. I happen to change jobs when Sarah’s book was published.

Sarah writes about all the major stress points ie career, money, relationships, body image, self image and spiritual maturity. Her book takes you through each stress point and offers case studies along with a place to journal through your thoughts about each stress point. This is a great book (devotional) for any young woman to go through and see how Sarah has woven scripture into each situation and how we should respond to what God is wanting to teach us.

She has graciously given me the opportunity to write a review and do a giveaway. ๐Ÿ™‚ If you know of some one that wouldย benefitย from this book or you would like to win a copy for yourself, leave a comment telling me how you deal with the stress and by the end of the week I will announce a winner!

 

**Update: Marlana was the winner of the book give-away! Marlana~ If you could email me your full name and address that would be great! Email me at rebeccabernier(at)gmail(dot)com.

Thank you all for your comments! I do hope you each will get a book and read Sarah’s book! I promise, you will not be disappointed. ๐Ÿ™‚

13 thoughts on “Stress Points

  1. Stress Point is such a great book! I love it. It is one of my favorites! Thanks for sharing what God has been teaching you. It was a good reminder for me, especially this week, to give my stress to the Lord and let him handle things. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Found this blog through Amelia McNeilly…and its great! Rebecca, we sound a lot alike! I too am a go go go type of girl and there are two things that always help me take a chill pill and rest: 1) Making myself sit down and talk to the Lord through journaling. Every time I write to the Lord, everything always comes back into perspective and I can rest in His promises. 2) My best friend Karina. She is the total oppostie of me and has the greatest way of sitting me down and forcing me to rest. She always knows to tell me that everything is going to be ok…and somehow I believe her everytime! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I def will put this book on my reading list for the future! Sounds like a perfect book for me! Thanks for this post!

    • Marlana~ I am so glad you found my blog through Amelia! You know I need to journal way more than I do. I think getting the thoughts out of my head and onto paper will help me out if I do it more. ๐Ÿ™‚ If you get a chance check out Sarah’s online study for this book! I think you would greatly benefit from it! Have a great day!

    • Amber~ I am finding that alone time is definitely key to decompressing! I have several friends who are SAHM and that’s what they have told me about the quiet time. Thank you for stopping by and commenting!

  3. To be honest I do not deal with stress very well. I am learning to deal with it better but I am not to where I would like to be. I am learning how to deal with things better and I am leanring not to worry about things that you cannot control. Journaling is a great thing and I need to do it more myself! Thank you for the post and for sharing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Kristen~ I definitely understand that! It’s taking me a long time to learn that I can’t worry about things that are not in my control and that I shouldn’t worry in the first place. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m glad you stopped by and left a comment! Praying for you and others that we will all trust and rest in the Lord more!

  4. Keep trying to find different ways to deal with stress…Sometimes is bad like crying, just sleeping, or baking (tastes good, bad for the scale)…Other times its praying, vegging out in front of the tv, or getting lost in a book…Hanging out with positive people and good friends, laughs, and hugs also can work. Dealing with stress though has been a WIP – Work in Progress – the last few years and trying to identify the triggers…

Leave a Reply

