Grace to Fail

This morning in church I thought about grace and all the changes that have taken place in my life recently. The biggest change was my job. I had been at the same job for over 6 years and felt it was time to move on. With that change, I have realized more than ever before I do not give myself grace to fail. I’m a perfectionist at heart and want to do everything right the first time. I do not want to make mistakes and I do not want to fail.

Last night in the midst of going over again all the things I either forgot about or couldn’t get to at work by the end of my day on Friday, I started to stress out and came close to having an anxiety attack. I calmed myself down by praying and reciting this scripture “Trust in the Lord with your whole heart and lean not unto your own understanding, in all your ways acknowledge Him and he will direct your path.” Prov 3:5,6.

I know that I can not do everything perfectly. I wish I could, but the failures of the past remind me that I am not able to be perfect in all things. That is where the grace and trust come in.

My prayer is “Lord, show me how to give myself grace each day, even in the midst of failures. May I trust that You alone are in control and know the path I am to be on.”

Do you give yourself grace to fail? If so, how do you do it?

2 thoughts on “Grace to Fail

  1. Thanks for that wonderful scripture in Prov…keep trusting for Him to direct our paths!! God’s grace empowers us to do all that He has called us to do. And in our weakness (and anxiety, and worry, and frustration) HE is strong. Thanks for this Word popping into my inbox today. Blessings!

    Jim

    • Jim~ You are welcome! Thank you for your comment! I feel like I need to read this every morning and be reminded that it is only God’s grace that will sustain me in my weaknesses. Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

