Being Let Go

A little over a week ago, I was let go from my job. It still seems a bit surreal to me. When I was first told the news, I sat in my chair at work and let the news settle in. I decided to let a few people know what was happening and within an hour of the news I had a couple part time jobs offered to me. For that I am very grateful. Being let go from a job is never easy and I know that the only way I have been sustained through this transition is by the grace of God. This year has been one of learning about grace. It is true, God’s grace is sufficient and will get me through any circumstance that I face.

I cried a lot. But I also prayed a lot more. I do my best not to dwell on the “what-ifs” of it all. (I’m a worrier and I had to keep myself from dwelling on my circumstances.) I didn’t get angry. Hurt and sad yes, but angry is not something that came with my new found unemployment. I was reminded over and over of a verse in Proverbs I’ve memorized over the years.

Proverbs 3:5,6

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him and he will make your paths straight.”

I am trusting in the Lord to show me my next step. I decided that crawling into a hole and not come out is not the best option for me. What I can and will do is trust and see where God wants to take me. I have no idea where I will end up working but I know that I want to be in the right place, loving what I do and seeing God use me to love others in the process. And like my friend Morgan told me in an email: “I hear Nashville is a great place!”.

Whether in Charlotte, Nashville or any other place I know that God has this and I just need to trust Him alone! During this transition, I will continue to work part time jobs to pay for my bills and of course run my half marathons! 🙂

So blog readers, please be in prayer that I will know what the next step is. Pray that I will find rest, renewal and clarity during this time.

Is there something I can be in prayer about for you? Let me know in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Being Let Go

  1. Nashville IS a great place to live!!! 😉 You should really listen to that Morgan chick. She sounds amazingly smart and awesome!! I’m proud of you for the attitude you have about all of this. That takes courage and a healthy heart in God. Can’t wait to see where He leads you. Wherever it is, I know God has great things in store! 🙂 Love you friend! I owe you an email…haha!

Leave a Reply

