A Little Reflective

Over the last several days I have been a little bit more reflective than usual. This is because I am writing out a story that took place during my sophomore year in high school. In getting the story on to paper, I decided to think about what I am like as an adult compared to what I was like as a child.

While talking with my mom yesterday, I decided to ask her: Is there anything that I have done as an adult that, when I was a child you would have thought “no way will Becky ever do that?”. Knowing that I was intensely shy as a child and teenager I thought my mom would have a few things to say. Really, I’ve heard stories that people thought I was mute growing up! 🙂 I was THAT shy.

After a few minutes of talking about the question she said, “I guess running would be something that surprises me about you”. We also talked about my sister, Julia, and her answer was: I never thought Julia would be in the restaurant industry and actually enjoying working where she does.

I still want to ask my dad that question and get his answer. I am sure it will be much different from my mom’s answer.

Do you ever think about that?

 

4 thoughts on “A Little Reflective

  1. I’m not sure I’m brave enough to ask anyone that question! 🙂 However, I have wondered. I ran into a high school teacher of mine a few years ago and wondered what he thought, if I seemed the same or different. Definitely interesting to think about!

Leave a Reply

