Faith and Running

Last night a friend of mine sent me a devotional that related how the Christian faith is much like running an endurance race. When I first started running I knew there was something more for me than “just running”. I was learning, growing and experiencing this new found love of running in a much different way than I had expected. I see how my walk with the Lord (my faith in Jesus) is like running a race. When I am in training mode, I have days where I just want to give up. In my walk with the Lord, there are days I want to throw in the towel and ask “is this really worth it”? It is worth it! 

Every single moment is worth it. Let that sink in.

The hard days are what make getting to the finish line that much sweeter. I know once I cross that finish line that I did not give up, I did not quit. I press on and see each new goal as a way to accomplish something great. I run hills that seem to go on forever and with each footstep I sometimes feel that cement has been poured into my shoes but once I reach the top, I rejoice at pushing through that difficult climb. Then comes the down hill portion, that wonderful time of recovery. I’m happier at that point in the run. But I know another hill comes up shortly and the routine continues. And just like that I am reminded of the problems I face. The hills I must climb each day, spiritually speaking, can be short and less painful or they can be long and arduous reminding me that I am not yet at the top. I haven’t finished the run.

I need to press on.  

I am then reminded of Philippians 3:12-14

12 Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. 13 Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” NIV (Via Biblegateway.com) 

My faith and running go hand in hand. I understand my faith in a deeper way than I had before I started running. I am truly thankful. I love what the writer, Paul, says in Philippians. I haven’t arrived yet, but I press on. I continue to train (read my Bible, pray, serve and love others) daily with my faith just like I do with my running (running the hills, long mileage and sprints) to one day reach the final goal. 

What inspires you to deepen your faith?

Leave a Reply

