What If

The other day I had a conversation with my brother about working. He’s been home almost a year and has not looked for a job. Before you freak out about him not working, it is something that my family discusses quite a lot and I push the issue more than anyone in my family. I’m a great little sister. 😉

I asked Matthew why he wouldn’t go look for a job right now and he said, “I might move back to Texas soon. I don’t want to work for 3 weeks and then move.”. I shot that down quickly with finding a job at a place that he could transfer to a location in Houston. He kept coming at me with all the “what ifs” he could find. What if I do find a job here and they are not hiring in Houston? What if they don’t want to hire me? What if, what if, what if? UGH!

I got tired of his continual “what ifs” and said “Matthew, you have got to stop living in the world of “what if!”.  I’m not sure if it made an impact on him but I sure took what I said to heart. For years I have lived in that world. A world marked with indecision and a constant fear that if I step out to do something then I will miss out on another opportunity. It has been a life long process and I am sure I will deal with this for many years but I am learning to take my “what ifs”, make a decision and live with that decision whether it is right or wrong at the time. The “what if” world can keep me in constant fear of making a bad decision and worry about the outcome of that decision so that I don’t step out in faith. I then have a false sense of control.

One of the biggest ways to rob myself of time is to live in that world. Whether it be for a job, a relationship, a letter to write, or a person I feel would like to hear from me via a phone call, or a blog post that I feel should be written, I know I need to be more intentional in stepping out of the “what if” world.

I was reminded of the scripture below:

Matthew 6:25-27  “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life?

Do you live in a “what if” world?

4 thoughts on “What If

  1. If I lived in the world of “what if” I would not be where I am today. Matthew needs to get ambition and find a job. He’s making excuses IMO because he would like to be taken care of for the rest of his life. He’s not living in the “what if” he is making excuses not to. Very discouraging. I’m praying that he stays in Charlotte

    • Sarah~ He is making excuses which is living in that “what if” world. All “what ifs” are excuses to not do what you should be doing. Or you would like to be doing. It is discouraging and my prayer is that he will get ambition and find a job.

  2. Ah, much needed verse and reminder this morning. I think it’s really easy to fall into the What If’s and let it carry us down a road of worry and doubt. I’m in a season of what if right now. While I KNOW God has everything covered, there is still that little bit where I am lacking faith.

    • Morgan~ I wish I could hug you right now! I know you are in a crazy place at the moment but I know as well that God has everything covered. I’m praying for you! I need to let that verse soak in deeper. My heart and head don’t always see, hear or “know” the same thing. I think if we let God’s truth soak in our hearts more then we will not worry or live in the “what if’s” as much.

Leave a Reply

